Board of Directors

Board of Directors

DEWA's Board of Directors

H.E Matar Humaid Al Tayer – Chairman and Independent Board Member

H.E Matar Al Tayer has been a director of the Group since 1990 and the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Group since 2004. He is also the vice chairman and a member of the board of the Al Tayer Group of Companies. Between 2003 and 2011, H.E Al Tayer was the chairman of Oman Insurance, between 1992 and 1997 he was the Under Secretary at the UAE Ministry of Communication and between 1997 and 2004 he was the UAE Minister of Labour and Social Affairs. H.E Al Tayer holds a degree in business administration from the University of Denver, Colorado, USA.

H.E Saeed Mohammed Ahmad Al Tayer – Non-Independent Board Member

Mr. Saeed M. Al Tayer was appointed Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Group in 2004 and has served as a member of the Board of Directors since then. He has more than 30 years’ experience in the fields of telecommunication, energy and water. He was appointed as general manager of the group in 1992. Mr. Al Tayer is the vice-chairman of the Dubai Supreme Council of Energy, a member of the Dubai Executive Council and Strategic Affairs Council, a member of the Dubai Supreme Fiscal Committee and vice chairman of the board of directors of EGA. He is the first UAE personality to be awarded Honorary Fellowship from the Energy Institute (EI), UK. Mr. Al Tayer has a bachelor in Business Administration from Columbus State University, Georgia, USA and was conferred with an honorary Doctorate by Amity University in Dubai.

Mr. Hilal Khalfan Bin Dhaher – Independent Board Member

Mr. Hilal Bin Dhaher has been a member of the Board of Directors of DEWA since 2003. During his 23 years’ professional career in Citibank NA. UAE Mr. Hilal served as VP in different sectors such as Corporate Banking, Consumer Banking and established the first outsourcing concept for Citibank in UAE which resulted in a reputable business model.  Mr. Hilal serves on the boards of Dubal Holding and Emirates Global Aluminum (EGA). He is also a member of the Human Capital Committee and Finance & Commercial Committee in EGA.  Formerly, he served on board of directors in different entities such as UAE Central Bank, Majid AL Futtaim group (MAF), Securities & Commodities Authority (SCA), Dubai aluminum company (DUBAL) and Emirates aluminum company (EMAL). Mr. Hilal obtained a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from University of Arizona, USA. He took an MBA corresponding CAD’s course at Citibank Training Center in Athens, Greece, covering Credit, Treasury & Operations.

Mr. Al Sayed Abdulla Mohamed Al Hashemi – Independent Board Member

Mr. Al Hashemi has been a director of the Group since 2004. He is currently a member of the investment board of Emirates REIT (CEIC) plc. He also acts as an arbitrator for the UAE Federal Government and Dubai Government and is involved in the design of projects undertaken by Al Hashemi Consultant Office. Past roles include Board Director, Dubai Islamic Bank, Head of Planning, Dubai Municipality and Board Director, Private Housing Finance scheme. Mr. Al Hashemi holds a bachelor’s degree in architecture from the Fine Arts Academy in Egypt.

Mr. Khalfan Ahmad Harib – Independent Board Member

Mr. Harib has been a director of the Group since 2002. He is the Chairman of the Central Grievance Committee for employees of Government departments since 2008 and Board member of the Consultative Commission for the Supreme Council for the Arab State of the Gulf since 2010.  He had also occupied positions such as Director of H.H. The Ruler’s Court, Govt. of Dubai from 2005 to 2008, Deputy Chairman of the Sheikh Zayed Housing Program from 2006 to 2012, Chairman of the Shaikh Mohamed Bin Rashid National Housing from 2004 to 2008, Deputy Chairman of the Judiciary Council of the Dubai Government from 2004 to 2008, Chairman of the Dubai Educational Establishment from 2004 to 2008, Board Member of the Executive Council,  Govt. of Dubai from  2002 to 2008, Director General of Dubai Finance Department from 2001 to 2006, Director of Financial Affairs at H.H. The Ruler’s Court from 1996 to 2001. Mr. Harib holds a degree in Management Information Systems from the University of Arizona, USA.

Mr. Majid Hamad Rahma AlShamsi – Independent Board Member

Mr. AlShamsi is the 1st Vice Chairman of Dubai Chamber of Commerce and Industry since 2007 and is a director of the Group since 1991. He is Chairman of Union Coop, Dubai, Chairman of Consumer Cooperative union of UAE, Chairman of the Board of trustees of the University of Dubai and Chairman of Hamad Rahma Al Shamsi General Trading. He was a Member of the Federal National Council. Mr. AlShamsi holds a bachelor’s degree in management and finance from New York University.

Mr. Obaid Bin Mes’har – Independent Board Member

Mr. Mes’har has been a director of the Group since 1995. He has over 35 years’ experience in telecom and water & electricity industry and runs a mediation/arbitration practice in this field. Past positions held include chairman of Etisalat Investment Committee, chairman of Canartel (CDMA) operator in Sudan, chairman of Zantel (Fixed and Mobile Operator in Tanzania), chairman of the Etisalat Academy, member of Dubai e-Government executive team, board member of Etihad Etisalat, Atlantique Telecom (GSM operator in six West African countries) and board member of Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Housing Establishment. Mr. Mes’har holds a bachelor’s degree in finance and business administration from UAE University and an MBA from the University of Minnesota, USA..

Mr. Saeed Mohammad Al Sharid – Independent Board Member

Mr. Al Sharid has been a director of the Group since 1990. He is Board member of Union Coop. and member of UAE Accounting & Auditing Association. He is an accredited auditor in the Ministry of Economy. Positions held include general manager of Emirates Transport, chairman of the board of directors of Emirates Islamic Bank and director of Etisalat. He holds a bachelor’s degree in Accounting & Business Administration from UAE University

Mr. Nabil Abdulrahman Ahmad Arif – Independent Board Member

Mr. Arif has been a director of the Group since 1995. He is also a member of the board of Mustafa Bin Abdullatif Investment LLC and the Najibi Investment Company. Mr Arif is a founding member of the UAE Society of Engineers and founding partner of M/S Arif & Bintoak Consulting Architects & Engineers. Mr. Arif obtained a bachelor of science degree in civil engineering from the Loughborough University of Technology, United Kingdom in 1973.

Mr. Mohammed Juma Saif AlSuwaidi – Independent Board Member

Mr. AlSuwaidi has been a director of the Group since 2021. He is Assistant Secretary General of the Supreme Legislation Committee in Dubai (since 2015) and Judicial member of the Rental Dispute Resolution Center in the Emirate of Dubai (since 2014). Prior to that he held key legal and legislative roles in Dubai Government Legal Affairs Department. Mr. Al Suwaidi holds a bachelor’s degree in law from Sharjah University.

Dr. Moza Shaiban Suwaidan – Independent Board Member

Dr. Suwaidan has been a director of the Group since 2021. She serves as the director of strategy and innovation and director general consultant for the Digital Dubai Authority. Before that, she was Director of Information Technology Department at Dubai Culture. She has also worked in Dubal Aluminum. She has over 20 years’ experience in information technology and strategic planning and held key roles in government and private sector. Dr. Suwaidan holds a Ph.D. in quality management from Hamdan Bin Mohammed Smart University and MBA degree from the American University of Dubai.